Beckman Scholars Claire Dopp, Sarah Noga, Anton Barybin, and Emily Hughes

KU Beckman Scholars Program

The purpose of the Beckman Scholars Program is to provide exceptionally talented, full-time undergraduate students with a meaningful undergraduate research opportunity, while funding the scholars during their award term in order to preclude the need to seek additional employment.

Learn More

Beckman Stats

In Funding Per Scholar from the Beckman Foundation
Additional Scholar Support from KU
Mentor Stipend


2019 Beckman Scholars & Mentors - Left to Right: Professor Erik Lundquist, Beckman Scholar Angelica Lang, Beckman Scholar Jonah Stiel, Professor James Blakemore

Program Overview

The Beckman Scholars stipend will support two students to perform part-time and full-time research in the Departments of Chemistry or Molecular Biosciences.
Student working with chemistry vials


Get to know everything that you need to include in your application, learn how to select a mentor, and see whether or not you pass the candidacy requirements and scholar requirements.
Beckman Scholar Logo

The Beckman Foundation

The KU Beckman Scholars Program is supported by the Beckman Foundation, established in 1977 by Dr. Arnold O. and Mrs. Mabel Beckman to give back to the scientific community.

Apply Now!

The KU Beckman Scholar Program is currently seeking funding for 2024.

Program News

Two Students Selected for Beckman Scholars Program

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas students Claire Dopp and Sarah Noga have been selected to participate in the 2021 Beckman Scholars Program.

KU Announces 2020 Beckman Scholars

LAWRENCE —  University of Kansas students Anton Barybin, of Lawrence, and Emily Hughes, of Leawood, have been selected for the Beckman Scholars Program, which supports research by exceptional undergraduates who seek to become leaders in the science field.

2016 Beckman Scholars Receive Degrees

KU’s 2016 Beckman Scholars, Kathryn Brewer and Collin Clay, graduated from KU in May 2018 with Bachelor of Science degrees. Kathryn graduated with Departmental Honors and both graduates earned Outstanding Graduating Senior awards.

Clay and Wood present at National ACS meeting

Collin Clay and Zachary Wood attended the 254th ACS National Meeting and Exposition, "Chemistry's Impact on the Global Economy" in Washington, D.C August 20-24. Both presented posters featuring their research projects, representing the University of Kansas Beckman Scho
2020 Beckman Mentors Professor Scott Hefty and Professor Sue Lunte, and Scholars Emily Hughes and Anton Barybin

2020 Beckman Mentors & Scholars - Top Row Left to Right: Professor Scott Hefty & Scholar Emily Hughes. Bottom Row Left to Right: Professor Sue Lunte & Scholar Anton Barybin.

2021 Beckman Scholars Claire Dopp and Sarah Noga, with their mentors James Blakemore and Joanna Slusky, as well as Director Lynn Hancock and Director David Benson

2021 Beckman Mentors and Scholars - Top Row (L to R): Director Lynn Hancock, Director David Benson, Mentor James Blakemore Bottom Row (L to R): Scholar Claire Dopp, Scholar Sarah Noga, Mentor Joanna Slusky